CeMAP courses compared
Everyone who sits CeMAP pays Walbrook Institute London (formerly LIBF, the London Institute of Banking & Finance) to register, and that fee already includes the study texts and a practice exam for each unit. Everything else, from a £198 online course to a £3,295 three-day class, is optional and paid on top. Here's what each kind of help adds, with prices from the providers' own pages.
From Walbrook's CeMAP page and each provider's own page, linked in the tables. We have no arrangement with any provider here. Checked 6 November 2026.
What Walbrook's fee already gets you
The full qualification is £735, or £810 if you buy the three modules separately. That includes:
- online study texts for FRE1, FRE2, MRT1 and MRT2, and interactive material for the final unit
- one specimen exam and one practice exam per unit
- your first sitting of every exam, sat remotely when you're ready
- a weekly study planner and the student forum
Walbrook also sells extras: a revision tool (£180 for all three modules), revision videos (£125 per module group), extra practice exams (£25 a unit) and three months of tutor support. A resit costs £120 a unit.
Paid courses, side by side
uAcademy
- Price
- £198 including VAT, 12 months’ access
- What you get
- Self-paced online: 274 lessons, 30 mocks (6 per unit), email tutor support
- 2025 units
- Yes, all five units
Archer Training
- Price
- £399, 12 months’ access (VAT not stated)
- What you get
- Video and audio lessons, question tests, revision guides, a weekly live Zoom session, email support
- 2025 units
- Labelled CeMAP 1, 2 and 3; the page doesn’t name the 2025 unit codes
Futuretrend (cemap123), home study
- Price
- £425 digital, £495 with printed books (VAT not stated)
- What you get
- Self-study hub for all three modules
- 2025 units
- The printed packs name FRE1, FRE2, MRT1, MRT2 and ASEW
Futuretrend (cemap123), virtual classroom
- Price
- £954 including VAT for the 10-day course; £596.40 for CeMAP 1, or for 2 and 3
- What you get
- Live online classes
- 2025 units
- Labelled CeMAP 1, 2 and 3
e-Careers, via Dumfries & Galloway College
- Price
- £1,045, exam fees not included
- What you get
- Virtual classroom with eLearning, mocks and a tutor
- 2025 units
- Still describes the old structure
The Knowledge Academy
- Price
- £3,295 excluding VAT
- What you get
- 3-day online course led by an instructor
- 2025 units
- Names FRE1, FRE2, MRT1 and MRT2
Prices change and offers come and go; check the provider's page before you buy. None of these includes Walbrook's registration fee.
Free practice
Walbrook's own papers. The specimen and practice exam for each unit come with your registration, so use them first: they're the closest thing to the real paper.
Our FRE1 mocks. Two full timed papers in the 2025 format, marked by learning outcome, free with no account. They cover FRE1 only so far, and they're in beta: the questions haven't yet been checked by a CeMAP holder.
CeMAP Practice. Free full papers for some units using the new codes, with £29.99 to unlock the rest.
Flashcard decks and older question banks are worth a look for vocabulary, but many still follow CeMAP 1, 2 and 3, so check a question against the current unit before you trust it.
When an employer pays
The Mortgage Adviser apprenticeship from Walbrook, launched in August 2026, is a 15-month Level 3 programme that includes CeMAP. Eligible employers can fund up to 100% of it from the apprenticeship levy.
Trainee adviser schemes at some brokers pay for CeMAP while you train, such as Haysto's graduate academy. If you're applying for adviser roles anyway, ask whether the firm funds it before paying yourself.
Which to pick
Self-motivated and on a budget: Walbrook's materials, its practice papers and free mocks for timing. Spend money only if a mock shows a unit you can't get on top of.
Want structure but study alone: a self-paced online course with plenty of mocks, checked for the 2025 unit codes.
Learn best from a person: a live virtual class, or Walbrook's tutor support, which is far cheaper than a full classroom course.
Whichever you choose, practise case studies. They carry 30 of the 80 marks across FRE1 and FRE2 and all 60 in the final unit; our case-study guide shows how to work through them.
Questions
- Do I have to take a course to pass CeMAP?
- No. Walbrook's £735 registration includes the study texts, a specimen exam and a practice exam for every unit, and your first sitting of each. Plenty of candidates pass on that alone. A paid course adds teaching, more practice questions or a tutor; whether that's worth it depends on how you learn and how much time you have.
- Is there a cheaper alternative to a CeMAP course if I'm self-studying with the LIBF materials?
- Yes. LIBF is now Walbrook Institute London, and its £735 registration already gives you the study texts plus a specimen and a practice exam for each unit. Add timed mocks for exam practice: Walbrook sells extra practice exams at £25 a unit, our two FRE1 mocks are free, and online question banks run from free to about £30. A full course only adds teaching and a tutor, at £198 to £3,295.
- Is the Walbrook fee included in course prices?
- Not in any of the courses on this page, as far as their pages say. You register and pay Walbrook separately, so a course's price is on top of the £735.
- How do I know a course covers the 2025 CeMAP?
- Look for the unit codes: FRE1, FRE2, MRT1, MRT2 and ASEW or ASSC. A course that only talks about CeMAP 1, 2 and 3, or about units 1 to 7, may still be teaching the structure that was replaced on 30 September 2025. The syllabus content overlaps a lot, but the exam format and case-study weighting changed.
- Can my employer pay for CeMAP?
- Often. Since August 2026 there's a Level 3 Mortgage Adviser apprenticeship from Walbrook that includes CeMAP, with up to 100% of the cost funded through the apprenticeship levy for eligible employers. Some brokers also fund CeMAP for trainee advisers they hire.
See where you stand
The free FRE1 mock is laid out like the real paper: 40 questions, 3 case studies, one hour, and your marks by learning outcome at the end.
Start the mock- FRE1 mock, paper 2Forty different questions in the same layout, for a second timed sitting once you have done the first.
- CeMAP study plannerYour start date and hours a week in; a plan for every unit and the date to sit each one out.
- Who inherits without a will?Answer a few questions about the family and see who inherits under the intestacy rules, and how much.
- Drill one learning outcomePick the criterion that cost you marks and answer only its questions, with each answer explained.
- The FRE1 exam: format, pass mark and what it testsHow the paper is laid out, the marks you need, and every assessment criterion in the syllabus.
- CeMAP changed in 2025: the five new unitsHow the old CeMAP 1, 2 and 3 map onto FRE1, FRE2, MRT1, MRT2 and the final unit.
- Remote exam checklist for CeMAPYour computer, room, ID and the day itself, as a list you can print and tick off.
- How to answer CeMAP case-study questionsHow linked questions work, and a way through five of them without losing marks to one misread fact.
- CeMAP or the CII route?The two main ways to qualify as a mortgage adviser in the UK, side by side.
- CeMAP resits and pass guaranteesThe £120 resit, when you can book it, and what course pass guarantees actually promise.
- Is CeMAP hard?What actually trips candidates up in the new exams, and how much study it takes.
- Can you do CeMAP with no experience?Who can sit it, how long it takes from a standing start, and what comes after you pass.